How to change, rename, or remove the Copy Label

IMPORTANT:

DO NOT modify the Copy Label or any labels “nested” below it before you receive the "Migration Complete!" email from VaultMe. Doing so will disrupt the copy process.

Steps to change / rename the Copy Label

  1. Wait until your migration is complete. You will know it’s complete when you receive the “Migration Complete!” email from VaultMe (sent to your destination account).
  2. Go to https://mail.google.com and log in to your destination account. Note the Copy Label created by VaultMe. It should have the same name as the email address you copied from.
  3. In the left hand navigation, scroll down to find and click the Manage labels link. (Note: you may first have to click More ▾ to reveal the Manage labels link in the left navigation)
  4. In the list of Labels, scroll down to find your Copy Label, and on the far right side, click edit
    Important Note: If you’re thinking about clicking “Remove” instead, please read this article for recommended steps to take before removing the Copy Label, an act which is permanent and destructive.
  5. Choose a new name for the label. Most users choose something like “Old Work Emails” or “Old School Emails”, then click Save.
  6. That's it! Now your emails from your source account will always be easy to find in the future.

Why was my stuff under a Copy Label in the first place?

There are several reasons VaultMe creates a Copy Label and doesn’t “merge” emails from your source account into the same folders in your destination account:

  • Easy verification that everything was properly copied from the source.
  • Leaves the option of simply changing the name of the Copy ID (see above) to something like “Old Work Emails” to keep everything separate (we recommend this).
  • Much easier to “undo” a copy if it was made in error.
  • Google doesn’t provide a method (API) for moving “special” emails like Drafts and Sent Mail to the destination folders of the same name. However, you can move these special emails manually.

Steps to delete the Copy Label from Gmail (advanced)

IMPORTANT:

DO NOT delete the Copy Label until you KNOW this is what you want to do. VaultMe creates the Copy Label specifically to mimic the label organization you had in your source account. Unless you have taken steps to move and/or re-label the emails already, deleting the Copy Label will result in all copied emails having no labels, meaning you will only be able to find them mixed together in the All Mail system folder of your destination account.

Instead, consider simply renaming the Copy Label (described above). It’s much faster and will keep your emails neatly organized.

  1. Wait until your migration is complete. You will know it’s complete when you receive the “Migration Complete!” email from VaultMe (sent to your destination account).
  2. Go to https://mail.google.com and log in to your destination account
  3. In the left hand navigation, scroll down to find and click the Manage labels link. (Note: you may first have to click More ▾ to reveal the Manage labels link in the left navigation)
  4. In the list of Labels, scroll down to find your Copy ID, and on the far right side, click remove.
  5. You will be presented with a popup notifying you that deleting your Copy ID will also delete all of its “children”. If you are sure you want to delete the Copy ID, click Delete (this is permanent!)

Steps to remove the Copy Label from Contacts

  1. Wait until your migration is complete. You will know it’s complete when you receive the “Migration Complete!” email from VaultMe (sent to your destination account).
  2. Go to https://contacts.google.com and log in to your destination account
  3. In the left hand navigation, under "Labels", find your Copy Label (named after your source account email address), hover over it, and click the garbage can icon
  4. In the "Delete this group" confirmation dialog, ensure that Keep all contacts and delete this group is selected and click DELETE.
  5. If there were Groups in the source account before you used VaultMe, there will be additional Groups remaining
  6. In the left navigation, hover and click pencil icon to open the edit dialog and choose a new name for the label
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 above for any remaining labels until you are satisfied with the results.