Canceling an AOL email account is easy, but are you prepared for what will happen after your account is deleted? There are some simple things that you can do in advance to ensure a stress-free cancellation experience (and you’ll thank yourself later!).
In this article, we will cover the steps for closing an AOL email account. We will also offer solutions to cancellation-related issues that are often overlooked.
How to close your AOL email account: 6 steps
If you are absolutely sure that you no longer need your AOL email account, here’s how you can delete it safely:
Cancel your active subscriptions and pay account balance.
If you have active subscriptions and paid plans, you’ll have to wait 90 days after you cancel them to delete your AOL email account. While this policy may seem excessive, it actually helps to prevent fraudulent activity and make AOL a safer place.
Save the email history into another online account before you delete your AOL email address.
We recommend saving your AOL archive into another email account because this will make your old emails accessible online. You will need no special desktop software to browse the emails and you will be able to quickly find an old message when you need it.
If you want to avoid manual work and save your folder organization, try VaultMe. This is a paid service, but it may cost you more time and effort to move your AOL emails into another account manually.
VaultMe can migrate your old emails into any email provider’s mailbox (such as Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, etc.) automatically. It’s very easy to set up and it works online.
Replace your AOL email address with another active email address in all services that are associated with it.
You should make sure that none of your online accounts are associated with the old AOL address before you request account termination.
Let other people know that you are deleting your AOL email account.
After you request to close your AOL email account, it will not be deleted permanently. AOL will deactivate it for 30 days (or more in some countries), and if you don’t sign in the account within this period, it will be deleted forever.
But your account will continue to receive emails during the waiting period. You can use these 30 days to notify people that your AOL email address is no longer used and will be deleted soon. To do that, you can set up an auto-reply before you request cancellation. Note that once your AOL email account is deleted permanently, your automated replies will no longer be sent.
Go to the AOL account termination page and follow the prompts to cancel your AOL email account.
Please note the following:
- If you have several usernames in your AOL email account, they all must be canceled separately.
- After you cancel all additional usernames, you’ll have to wait 30 days to delete your primary username.
Wait until your AOL account is deleted permanently.
Remember that AOL will not delete your email account instantly. It will deactivate it for 30 days (or more in some countries) leaving you the option of re-opening it if you change your mind.
Again, this is a security measure that helps avoid losing the content of the email account by mistake and protects the account from fraudulent activity.
If you wish to re-activate your account, simply sign in it from any of your devices within 30 days.
As discussed above, canceling an AOL email account is simple, but there is more to it than just clicking the “Delete” button. Taking the time to tie up the loose ends and prepare for the cancellation will pay off in the long run.
Before you delete your AOL email account, you should save your old emails to another online account, replace the old email address in all online services that are associated with it, and let other people know that you will be closing your account.
The easy way to save old AOL email messages is to copy them to another online account using VaultMe. VaultMe i s a secure app for online migrations that can save your AOL emails into any email provider’s mailbox. It copies emails automatically and saves hours of manual work.